Ballard Filmmaking Emmy Nominations

Ballard Students Nominated for Awards of Excellence
Posted on 05/09/2016
Ballard High School Filmmaking

Students Nominated for Awards of Excellence

Students from Ballard High School's Digital Filmmaking Program earned 13 High School Awards of Excellence nominations this year which is more than twice the number of any other school or organization in the five-state region. The winners will be announced on June 4 at the 53rd Annual Northwest Emmy Awards.

These awards celebrate the most outstanding productions from five Northwest states: Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana and Alaska.  Productions are nominated by the Northwest Chapter of National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) industry professionals.

Ballard’s nominations span four categories, reflecting the diverse skills students learn in the program.

These are the nominations by category:

Short Form Fiction:

Anne by Jaya Flanary, Meagen Tajalle & Rachel Cole

The Dragon’s Lair by PJ Hase, Jonny Cechony & Ellie Clarrissimeaux

Green Space by Jonny Cechony

My Hero by Cecilia O’Rollins, Gabriella Strommen, Olga Schultheis & David Knobloauch

Who’s Afraid of the Dark by Bergen Johnson, Cameron Miller & Sierra Santoro

Music Video:

Big Coat by Jaya Flanary, Duncan Gowdy & Leo Pfeifer

Josephine by Duncan Kastner, Aaron Miller, Grant Moffett & Kajsa Woolford

Today by Coleman Andersen, PJ Hase & Bergen Johnson

Voices by Aurore Bouriot, Jonathan Bowers, Brian Cropp & Jake Rehfeldt

Public Service Announcement:

I'm an Artist by Martin Bolivar, Jonny Cechony & Evan Wallace Protect Your

Hearing by Elliott Atkinson, Cyrus Ogle & Bailey Wall

What Lies Ahead by Jaya Flanary, Meagen Tajalle & Grace Turnell


Hologram by Miles Andersen, Emily Black, Sophie DeGreen, Jesse Romero & Sho Schrock

This makes the tenth year in a row that Ballard High School film students have been nominated by the Academy.  Last year they received 11 nominations.

Here is more information on Ballard High School's Filmmaking Program.

Here is where you can watch the nominated videos.

© Seattle Public SchoolsWebsite by SchoolMessenger Presence opens a new window. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.