Skip To ContentSkip To Content
    Scholarship Fund Awards Ceremony May 11
    Posted on 05/05/2017

    The community is invited to attend the Seattle Public Schools Scholarship Fund Awards Ceremony on May 11 at 7 p.m. in the John Stanford Center for Educational Excellence Auditorium.

    26 graduating seniors, representing every high school will be recognized for their personal tenacity, contribution to their community, and academic accomplishments.

    2017 Recipients

    Najib Ali, Franklin High School
    Maria Aleman, Nathan Hale High School
    Jesse Appel, Ballard High School
    Lukas Bowen, Roosevelt High School
    Rochelle Bowyer, Center School
    Demari Briggs, Ingraham High School
    Isis Brown, South Lake High School
    Marco Castro, West Seattle High School
    Christa Contreras, Ballard High School
    Omar Hassan, Cleveland High School
    Reginald King, Garfield High School
    TreSean Levias, Rainier Beach High School
    Thuy Luu, Cleveland High School
    Sabastian Manion, Nova High School
    Taliah Mekuria, Middle College High School
    Steve Mendiola, Chief Sealth High School
    Abdurahman Mohamed, Nathan Hale High School
    Sagal Mohamed, Chief Sealth High School
    TaCeana Montgomery, Garfield High School
    Nirae Petty, Rainier Beach High School
    Chen Peng, Roosevelt High School
    Reymar Salazar, Interagency
    Johana Rivas, Seattle World School
    Luis Talavera, Ingraham High School
    Tasia Warnokowski-Caldwell, West Seattle High School
    T'Keyah Williams, Franklin High School

    Each year since 1974, the Seattle Schools Scholarship Fund awards scholarships to graduating seniors of Seattle Public Schools and in recognition of students who have overcome significant life challenges to achieve their dreams.

    The scholarships are in the amount of $2,500 and are awarded to students each year for tuition expenses at any college or university or vocational training of the student's choice.

    The scholarship is funded largely from an annual contribution from the Seattle School Retirees Association, as well as generous donations from community members.

    The 2017 ceremony will honor former Franklin High School teacher and longtime fund trustee Phil Konkel who passed away last year. His passion and tireless efforts dedicated to the success of the students of Seattle and the Scholarship Fund will be greatly missed. His legacy lives on through a generous bequest to the Fund of nearly $220,000.

    Thank you to this year’s selection committee including school counselors and the Seattle Schools Scholarship Fund Trustees.

    Please visit the Seattle Schools Scholarship fund webpage for more information about the history of the Seattle Public Schools Scholarship fund, including ways to donate.