Skip To ContentSkip To Content
    College Preparation Events 2020-21
    Posted on 10/26/2020
    College campus columns, photo by stu_spivack

    College Preparation Events 2020-21

    The Seattle Public Schools strategic plan outlines the goal of all students prepared for college, career, and life. There are many steps students should take to be prepared for college. The Department of College and Career is here to support students as they navigate this process. Read more about College and Career Readiness at Seattle Public Schools.

    October 1 FAFSA and WASFA open. Completing the FAFSA or WASFA is the first step in accessing college financial aid. It is required for most scholarships, grants, and loans. High school seniors should apply early to get all of the financial aid that they are eligible for.

    Federal — The FAFSA is the application that citizens and eligible non-citizens (i.e. permanent resident card/green card, conditional permanent resident, refugee) complete to access financial aid. Apply online for free FAFSA

    Washington — The WASFA is the application undocumented non-citizens complete to access financial aid. Apply online for free WASFA

    Seattle Promise Scholarship The application for Seattle Promise Fall 2021 is open. The program provides financial support and ongoing college and career guidance for students to attend one of three Seattle Colleges. All graduating seniors are encouraged to apply. Learn more and apply for the Seattle Promise Scholarship.

     

    Watch the October 5th Seattle Public Schools Virtual Financial Aid Presentation: Monday, October 5

     

     

    Upcoming Events

    October 20 and November 4 SPS Virtual Financial Aid Filing Support Events:

    • Tuesday, October 20, (Languages: Amharic, Somali, Spanish)
    • Wednesday, November 4, 4 - 6 p.m. (Languages: Chinese, Tagalog, Vietnamese) This event registration is full.
     

     

    Statewide Financial Aid Filing Support Events: The 12th Year Campaign is partnering with high schools and colleges to provide virtual events to help student take the first steps to fund post-secondary goals.

    • Tuesday, October 6
    • Thursday, October 15
    • Saturday, October 24
    • Wednesday, October 28, 5 - 8 p.m. Event RSVP
    • Tuesday, November 10, 11 a.m. - 2 p.m. Event RSVP
    • Thursday, November 19, 5 - 8 p.m. Event RSVP
    • Tuesday, December 1, 5 -8 p.m. Event RSVP

    October 12 - 16 Discover U: Discover U College and Career Exploration Week

    October 12 and 18, November 8 NACAC Virtual College Fairs: Monday, October 12, Sunday, October 18, and Sunday, November 8. NACAC Virtual College Fair

    October 19 – 23, PNACAC Virtual College Fair: Monday, October 19 through Friday, October 23. PNACAD Virtual College Fair.