Skip To ContentSkip To Content
    New Board Members and Officers
    Posted on 12/13/2019
    The school board poses for a photo

    New Board Members Welcomed, Officers Elected for 2019-20

    During the December 11 meeting, the Seattle School Board welcomed returning and new members and elected the 2019-20 board officers.

    In the November General Election, Seattle voters elected Liza Rankin (District 1), Lisa Rivera-Smith (District 2), and Chandra N. Hampson (District 3) to fill the open Seattle School Board seats, and Leslie Harris (District 6) who won a second term on the board. The Seattle School Board of Directors represent each geographic region of the city and are elected to a four-year term. Hampson, Rivera-Smith, Rankin, and Harris join Zachary DeWolf, Brandon K. Hersey, and Eden Mack as the governance body of the largest school district in Washington.

    The Seattle School Board elected Zachary DeWolf as board president and Chandra N. Hampson as vice president and Leslie Harris as member-at-large. The board officers began their tenure the same day as the officer election and serve for a one-year term. Please join us in welcoming our newest board members and officers to these new roles.

    2019-20 Committee Assignments

    Executive Committee
    The Executive Committee acts as a liaison and provides leadership for School Board activities.

    Zachary DeWolf, President
    Chandra N. Hampson, Vice President
    Leslie Harris, Member-at-Large

    Operations Committee
    The Operations Committee develops, reviews, and make recommendations for operation, facility and capital program policies.

    Assignments to be determined

    Curriculum and Instruction Policy Committee
    The Curriculum and Instruction Policy Committee develops and reviews academic policies and makes recommendations on Teaching and Learning Board Action Reports.

    Assignments to be determined

    Audit and Finance Committee
    The Audit and Finance Committee provides oversight of the financial matters and budget development process of the District.

    Assignments to be determined

    To learn more about the Seattle School Board Directors, including contact information and upcoming community meetings, please visit the director webpages.

    Liza Rankin represents District 1 North Seattle, including Broadview, North Beach, Olympic Hills
    District 1 Director Webpage

    Lisa Rivera-Smith represents District 2 Northwest Seattle, including Greenlake, Greenwood and Fremont
    District 2 Director Webpage 

    Chandra N. Hampson represents District 3 Northeast Seattle, including Sand Point, View Ridge and Bryant
    District 3 Director Webpage

    Eden Mack represents District 4, Northwest and central Seattle, including Magnolia, Queen Anne and southern neighborhoods in Ballard 
    District 4 Director Webpage

    Zachary DeWolf represents District 5 Central Seattle, including Capitol Hill, downtown and the Central Area
    District 5 Director Webpage

    Leslie Harris represents District 6, which includes West Seattle and South Park
    District 6 Director Webpage

    Brandon K. Hersey represents District 7 Southeast Seattle, including Beacon Hill, Rainier Beach, Rainier View
    District 7 Director Webpage